Steady Wisdom: Day 46

Steady Wisdom: 108 Verses On Changing My Thinking

DAY 46

I have no father, mother or family; I was never born nor will I die.  It cannot be said that I have affection or delusion.  I am ever-free by nature; there’s no illusion for me. 
-Avadhuta Gita 4:21

The body is born to a mother and father but I, the self, am not.  Rather, the body is “born” to me, pure existence.  As such, I am present and unaffected before the birth of the body and I remain present and unaffected after its death. 

The mind suffers from affection and delusion but I, the self, do not.  Rather, the affection and delusion of the mind are “revealed” by me, pure consciousness.  Just as the sun is free of all that it illumines, so I am free of the mind.  There’s no illusion for me. OM.

Read Series Introduction


Steady Wisdom: Day 45

Steady Wisdom: 108 Verses On Changing My Thinking

DAY 45

I have no parts.  I am actionless.  I am the self of all.  By nature I am eternal and self-evident.  I am the immortal, changeless self.
-Brahma Jnanavali V.12

I am one alone, free of all divisions, despite the appearance of the body, mind and world, the same way that water is one alone, free of all divisions, despite the appearance of ripples, waves and foam.  Like an actionless movie screen onto which a film is projected, I am the actionless “background” of pure existence onto which the false universe is projected. OM.

Read Series Introduction

What are the Primary Texts of Advaita Vedanta?

Q: What are the primary texts of Advaita Vedanta?  

A: There are three primary texts of Advaita Vedanta. Together they form what is called the prasthana traya, the “three means” or “three foundations/pillars” of Vedanta.

The first primary text is actually a group of texts called the Upanishads. In turn, the revelations of the Upanishads form the basis of the other two primary Vedanta texts, The Brahma Sutras and the Bhagavad Gita. The Brahma Sutras are an attempt to systematize the teachings of the Upanishads and harmonize their internal inconsistencies. The Bhagavad Gita takes the essential teachings of the Upanishads and puts them into a story form that is easier for people to relate to and learn from.

A note:  There are many Upanishads but the ten most commonly cited by Vedanta are:  Aitreya, Brihadaranyaka, Chandogya, Isa, Kena, Katha, Mandukya, Mundaka, Prashna and Taittiriya.  These are considered to be the mukhya (primary) Upanishads because they were commented on by Shankaracharya, Advaita Vedanta’s greatest teacher.  Shankara also supposedly commented on the Svetasvatara Upanishad but because the style of this commentary differs from his commentaries on the ten other Upanishads (as well as the style of his commentaries on the Bhagavad Gita and Brahma Sutras) it is widely believed to be spurious.  Some, however, claim that the Svetasvatara commentary was originally an authentic work of Shankara but was later heavily re-worked by other authors to arrive at its present form.  As such, it’s still thought of as a useful tool for teaching Vedanta.  But it’s not considered to be a reliable guide to Shankara’s interpretation of Vedanta. 

Another significant Upanishad, despite not being commented upon by Shankara, is the Kaivalya Upanishad.   

Hope that helps – Vishnu

Steady Wisdom: Day 44

Steady Wisdom: 108 Verses On Changing My Thinking

DAY 44

My nature is pure consciousness.  The body, heaven and hell, bondage and freedom are merely imagined through ignorance. They do not affect me. There is nothing to fear. 
-Ashtavakra Samhita 2:20

Knowing that I am the self, I need not seek heaven nor fear hell.  I need not seek freedom nor fear bondage.  They are all illusory appearances of me, pure consciousness, similar to the way a dream is an illusory appearance of the mind of a dreamer.  Just as a dreamer is not affected by its dreams, I am not affected by the illusory appearance of heaven, hell, freedom and bondage.  OM. 

Read Series Introduction

Steady Wisdom: Day 43

Steady Wisdom: 108 Verses On Changing My Thinking

DAY 43

In truth there are no scriptures, no gods, no religious practices; there are no worlds; there are no paths to heaven or rebirth; there are no stages of life, no caste, no lineage.  There is only me, the highest reality.
-Avadhuta Gita 1:34

Although I appear to have been born at a particular place and time to a particular family, and although I appear to have worshipped God and done religious practices to purify my mind, the truth I have realized from the scriptures is that I alone exist—all else is ultimately illusory.  Thus, I followed the path, thinking it would lead to freedom.  But it merely led me to the recognition of the fact that I have always been free. OM.      

Read Series Introduction